In Wisconsin, disorderly conduct is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
The statute is broadly written and gives police officers a lot of room for interpretation. It’s up to the particular officer on the scene to determine whether or not behavior should be defined as disorderly. If they do believe disorderly conduct is occurring, police have the authority to make an arrest or issue a citation in any public or private place (this includes your own home).
Disorderly conduct does have an intent element, meaning that a person can commit disorderly conduct without intending to do so. Disorderly conduct can also be charged with a “domestic” enhancer, with can increase the potential court costs associated with a conviction, as well as potentially restrict firearm rights under federal law.
In addition, disorderly conduct law in Wisconsin applies to phone calls, and internet use. Any disorderly conduct committed via telephone or over the internet (such as on Facebook) can result in penalties.
If you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct and are facing fines or jail time, a defense attorney can help explain your options and defend your rights. Our criminal lawyers offer a free 30-minute initial case review. Give us a call today at 608-471-5003 or send us an email.